JEE Main 2021 Eligibility Criteria| Educational Qualification and Age limit

Here you will find JEE Main 2021 Eligibility Criteria which includes educational qualification and age limitations Every year, NTA conducts JEE Main Exam two times every year. But this time JEE Main 2021 will be held four time this year due to unprecedented situation created by COVID pandemic that is in February, March, April and May 2021. The exam will be conducted through both modes i.e., computer based and pen & paper based mode.

JEE Main 2021 Eligibility Criteria| Educational Qualification and Age limit

JEE Main 2021 Eligibility Criteria

According to the National Testing Agency (NTA) information brochure, the last date to register for JEE Main 2021 is January 16, 2021. With the help of scores obtained in JEE Main 2021, students can apply for BE/BTech, BE, B.Plan and B.Arch courses in various institutes like IITs, NITs, IIITs and state colleges.

• Exam: Candidates must qualify their 10+2 or equivalent examination from a recognized board.

• Subjects: Candidates must have to take minimum 5 subjects in 12th or equivalent examination. For BE/B.Tech students they must have taken Physics and Mathematics as compulsory subjects along with one of the Chemistry or Biology or Biotechnology or Technical Vocational subject. For B.Arch, Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry are essential and for B.Plan, Mathematics is necessary.

• Marks Obtained: There are no minimum marks required. Students with passing marks can also apply.
However, Students should get at least 75% marks in class 12 examination for admission in NITs, IIITs and other Centrally Funded Technical Institutes (CFTIs) or they should rank in the top 20 percentile of their qualifying exams to get admission in other state government institutions.

• Nationality: Candidates must be a Citizen of India. Students who are Non-Residential Indian (NRI) or Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) or Persons of Indian Origin (PIO) can also apply by providing the category certificates at all stages of JEE Main.

• Number of Attempts: Students can make 3 attempts for JEE Main exam.

JEE Main 2021 Age Limit

• For General and OBC student whose birth date falls on or after 1st October 1994 will be eligible to appear for JEE Main 2021.

• For Scheduled Caste (SC) and Scheduled Tribe (ST), as well as Persons with Disabilities (PwD) the upper age limit relaxation of 5 years will be applied i.e. people under the categories of  who are born on or after 1st October 1989, will be eligible.

List of Qualifying Examinations for JEE Mains 2021 Eligibility Criteria

• Class 12 final exam conducted by Central or State Boards, such as Central Board of Secondary Education, Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations etc.

• Intermediate or two-year Pre-University exam conducted by a recognized Board/ University.

• Final exam of the two-year course of the Joint Services Wing of the National Defence Academy.

• Senior Secondary School Examination conducted by the National Institute of Open Schooling having a minimum of five subjects.

• Any Public School/ Board/ University examination in India or in any foreign country recognized as equivalent to the 10+2 system by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU).

• H.S.C - Vocational examination.

• A Diploma recognized by AICTE or a State board of technical education of a minimum of 3 year duration

• General Certificate Education (GCE) examination (London/Cambridge/Sri Lanka) at the Advanced (A) level.

• High School Certificate Examination of the Cambridge University or International Baccalaureate Diploma of the International Baccalaureate Office, Geneva.

Year of Appearance in Qualifying Examination (Class 12):

• Students who have passed Class 12 / equivalent examination in 2019, 2020 or 2021; or those who are appearing in Class 12 / equivalent examination in 2021, are eligible to appear in JEE (Main) 2021.

• Students who passed Class 12/equivalent examination in 2018 or before as well as those who will appear in such examination in 2022 or later are not eligible to appear in JEE (Main) 2021.

JEE Main 2021 Eligibility Criteria for Admissions to NITs, IIITs and CFTIs

• NITs/ IIITs/ GFTIs Admission: Students should have passed class 12 with a minimum of 75% marks or they must be in the top 20 percentile in their class 12 examination (65% for SC/ST candidates).

• JEE Main 2021 B.Arch/B.Plan Admission: Students should have passed 10+2 or equivalent exam from a recognized board with a minimum 50% aggregate marks.

State of Eligibility

• The state of eligibility is the code of the state from where a candidate has completed class 12. It does not depend upon the native place or the place of residence of the candidate.

• If a student has passed class 12 or equivalent exam from a state but he/she has appeared for the improvement exam from a different state, then the state code where the student originally passed the qualifying exam will be considered for eligibility.

• Students passed/appearing class 12th from NIOS should select the State of Eligibility according to the State in which the study centre is located.

• For Indian nationals passing the Class XII (or equivalent) examination from Nepal/Bhutan, the State code of eligibility will be determined based on a permanent address in India as given in the passport of the candidate.

• The State code of eligibility of OCI/PIO passing Class 12th standard exam in India will be at par with Indian nationals, however, OCI/PIO passing the 12th standard exam from an institution abroad will be eligible for other state quota seats or All India quota seats (but not for Home State quota seats) in all NITs, IIEST and Other-CFTIs.


In the case of Institutes run by the Central Government, the reservation would be applicable as mentioned below:
• 15% of the seats Scheduled Castes (SC) candidates
• 7.5% seats for Scheduled Tribes (ST) candidates
• 27% seats for Other Backward Classes (OBC) Non-Creamy Layer (NCL) candidates as per the Central List
• 10% of the seats for General Economically Weaker Sections (General - EWS) candidates
• Persons with Disability (PwD) with 40% or more disability

• Each category will have 5% reservations for the candidates with 40% or more disability.

• In the case of the Institutes run/aided/recognized by State Governments, the reservation policy of the respective State Governments shall be applicable.
Previous Post Next Post