MCQ Questions for Class 12 History: Ch 12 Colonial cities

MCQ Questions for Class 12 History: Ch 12 Colonial cities

1. The Dutch had set up their base in Masulipatnam in the year
(a) 1605.
(b) 1510.
(c) 1639.
(d) 1670.
► (a) 1605.

2. Fort St. George of English East India Company was situated at
(a) Bombay.
(b) Madras.
(c) Calcutta.
(d) Delhi.
► (b) Madras.

3. The city walls of Shahjahanabad were demolished after
(a) 1853.
(b) 1850.
(c) 1857.
(d) 1858.
► (c) 1857.

4. The capital of British India was shifted to Delhi, in 1911, from
(a) Bombay.
(b) Calcutta.
(c) Madras.
(d) Agra.
► (b) Calcutta.

5. East India Company’s agents settled in Calcutta in
(a) 1630.
(b) 1690.
(c) 1730.
(d) 1790.
► (b) 1690.

6. Lord Wellesley became the Governor-General of colonial India in the year
(a) 1795.
(b) 1796.
(c) 1798
(d) 1780
► (c) 1798

7. The Indian town which the King of England got as part of his wife's dowry from the King of Portugal was
(a) Bombay.
(b) Madras.
(c) Calcutta.
(d) Delhi.
► (a) Bombay.

8. The king of England got Bombay as part of his wife’s dowry from the
(a) King of France.
(b) King of Russia.
(c) King of Prussia.
(d) King of Portugal
► (d) King of Portugal

9. The British became the rulers of Bengal since the year
(a) 1747
(b) 1750
(c) 1757
(d) 1760
► (c) 1757

10. In 1857, the first spinning and weaving mill was established at
(a) Madras.
(b) Lahore.
(c) Goa.
(d) Bombay.
► (d) Bombay.

11. Pasturelands and agricultural fields around the older towns were cleared, and new urban spaces called ______ were set up.
(a) New Lines
(b) Tested Lines
(c) Civil Lines
(d) Real Lines
► (c) Civil Lines

12. _____ refers to a small fixed market.
(a) Ganj
(b) Bazar
(c) Rahis
(d) Bahis
► (a) Ganj

13. ______ became the nucleus of the White Town where most of the Europeans lived.
(a) Mehrangarh Fort
(b) Fort St George
(c) Fort William
(d) Gomsi Fort
► (b) Fort St George

14. After Wellesley’s departure the work of town planning was carried on by ______ with the help of the government.
(a) The Lottery Committee
(b) The Bombay Committee
(c) The Cornwalis Committee
(d) The Bentick Committee
► (a) The Lottery Committee
Previous Post Next Post