Latest CBSE Class 12th Syllabus of History 2018-19

CBSE has released the CBSE Class 12th Syllabus of History (Code No. 027) for the session 2018-19. The new session has started and board updated the new syllabus. There is no change made in the syllabus and exam pattern.

The question paper will be of 80 marks. Project Work will be of 20 marks. The Question paper will consist of 16 questions.

Scheme of Option

• Part A will have no choice.

• Part B will be divided into 2 sections (from 4 sections of the book) +1 Value Based Section. →Section I will have 5 questions from all the four sections, out of which the student will attempt any 4 questions.
→ Section-II -One question will be a value based question which is a compulsory question.

• Part C will carry four long answer questions. The number of questions will be 5 carrying 8 marks each. (Each question from four sections). Student will have to answer any four questions.

• Part D will be passage-based questions. There will be THREE passages, ONE from each section followed by questions. There will be no internal choice.

• In Part E, there will be one map question -Test items will be 'identification and significance'.

There is no change in the list of Maps.

S. No. UnitsMarks
Section A Themes in Indian History Part-I (Units 1 - 4)25
Section BThemes in Indian History Part-II (Units 5 - 9)25
Section CThemes in Indian History Part-III (Units 10 - 15)25

Unit 16 : Map Work05
Section EMap Work (Unit 1- 16)20

Project Work20


Note: There is no change in the syllabus. Value Based Question can be from Part-1, 2, 3 of textbooks and carry 04 marks. Accordingly, teacher can reduce weightage of the corresponding section.


• The Story of the First Cities: Harappan Archaeology
• Political and Economic History: How Inscriptions tell a story
• Social Histories: Using the Mahabharata
• A History of Buddhism: Sanchi Stupa


• Agrarian Relations: The Ain-i- Akbari
• The Mughal Court: Reconstructing
• New Architecture: Hampi
• Religious Histories: The Bhakti-Sufi Tradition
• Medieval Society through Travelers' Accounts


• Colonialism and Rural Society: Evidence from Official Reports
• Representations of 1857
• Colonialism and Indian Towns: Town Plans and Municipal Reports
• Mahatma Gandhi through Contemporary Eyes
• Partition through Oral Sources
• The Making of the Constitution

• Map Work on Units 1-15

Book 1

1. P-2. Mature Harappan sites: Harappa, Banawali, Kalibangan, Balakot, Rakhigarhi, Dholavira, Nageshwar, Lothal, Mohenjodaro, Chanhudaro, Kot Diji.
2. P-30. Mahajanapada and cities :
Vajji, Magadha, Kosala, Kuru, Panchala, Gandhara, Avanti, Rajgir, Ujjain, Taxila, Varanasi.
3. P-33. Distribution of Ashokan inscriptions:
(i) Kushanas, Shakas, Satavahanas, Vakatakas, Guptas
(ii) Cities/towns: Mathura, Kannauj, Puhar, Braghukachchha
(iii) Pillar inscriptions - Sanchi, Topra, Meerut Pillar and Kaushambi.
(iv) Kingdom of Cholas, Cheras and Pandyas.
4. P-43. Important kingdoms and towns:
(i) Kushanas, Shakas, Satavahanas, Vakatakas, Guptas
(ii) Cities/towns: Mathura, Kanauj, Puhar, Braghukachchha, Shravasti, Rajgir, Vaishali, Varanasi, Vidisha
5. P-95. Major Buddhist Sites:
Nagarjunakonda, Sanchi, Amaravati, Lumbini, Nasik, Bharhut, BodhGaya, Shravasti, Ajanta.

Book 2

1. P-174. Bidar, Golconda, Bijapur, Vijayanagar, Chandragiri, Kanchipuram, Mysore, Thanjavur, Kolar, Tirunelveli, Quilon
2. P-214. Territories under Babur, Akbar and Aurangzeb: Delhi, Agra, Panipat, Amber, Ajmer, Lahore, Goa.

Book 3

1. P-297. Territories/cities under British Control in 1857:
Punjab, Sindh, Bombay, Madras Fort St. David, Masulipatam, Berar, Bengal, Bihar, Orissa, Avadh, Surat, Calcutta, Daccan, Chitagong, Patna, Benaras, Allahabad and Lucknow.
2. P-305. Main centres of the Revolt of 1857:
Delhi, Meerut, Jhansi, Lucknow, Kanpur, Azamgarh, Calcutta, Benaras, Gwalior, Jabalpur, Agra, Avadh.
3. P-305. Important centres of the National Movement:
Champaran, Kheda, Ahmedabad, Benaras, Amritsar, Chauri Chaura, Lahore, Bardoli, Dandi, Bombay (Quit India Resolution), Karachi.

Division of Question Paper

→ The Question paper will be divided into A, B, C, D and E.
→ Part A will carry 4 very short answer questions of 2 marks each.
→ Part B 'Section-I' will carry 5 short answer questions of 4 marks each. Students should answer any four from section I.
→ Part B 'Section II' is a value based compulsory question.
→ Part C will carry 4 long questions of 8 marks each (word limit '350').
→ Part D will carry 3 passage -based questions. The number of questions will be three, carrying 5 marks each (no internal choice). The passages will be taken from the textbooks as directed therein.
→ Part E will have 1 map question of 5 marks. Items covered are 'identification and Location.

Download Syllabus for Class 12 History

Prescribed Books:

• Themes in Indian History, Part I, Class XII, Published by NCERT
• Themes in Indian History Part-II, Class XII, Published by NCERT
• Themes in Indian History Part-III, Class XII, Published by NCERT

Previous Post Next Post
Free Study Rankers App Download Now